Bhakti Yoga – Loving The Divine

Bhakti Yoga – Loving The Divine

Bhakti yoga is a yoga that connects to the path of God. Yoga has more to offer than just physical well being. Yoga in Sanskrit means ‘yuj’ which means to combine or link up and bhakti means ‘ bhaj’ which means loving. Therefore, bhakti-yoga means to connect paths with the supreme in a loving manner.

Bhakti Yoga – Loving The Divine
Bhakti Yoga – Loving The Divine

The Bhagavad Gita, the sacred Hindu scripture, defines yoga in different steps. Among them are, Karma yoga (the practice of mindful activities), Jnana yoga (rational study and observation) and also Hath yoga (the practice of asanas and breathing exercises). According to the time-honored yoga systems, physical yoga practices are just one of the steps towards the awareness and also the attainment of the divinity. Gita suggests bhakti-yoga as the zenith of all the yoga practices. It is a path of dedication and also loves towards the deity.

Basic Concepts Of Bhakti Yoga

The concept of bhakti-yoga lies on:

  • Mantra Meditation – in this process, chanting of mantras is done either individually or in a group. The individual practice uses beads on which chanting is done whereas, and group chanting involves recitation of mantras along with music that is called Kirtan in Hindu society.
  • Study of Sacred Scripts – sacred scripts like Bhagavad Gita, Ramayana is kept for study with spiritually alike people.
  • Eating holy and purified vegetarian food – the bhakti yoga path followers eat only purified vegetarian diet, which in return they consider to be blessed by God.

Living On Principals

Bhakti Yoga – Loving The Divine
Bhakti Yoga – Loving The Divine

The yogic of this practice follow a simple life of truthfulness, compassion, soberness, and sanitation.

Ways To Perform Bhakti Yoga

  • Sravana ( to listen)

This stage involves hearing of holy stories of different gods and their extents. Furthermore, there are many sacred books full of such stories that fill the aspirants with devotion.

  • Kirtana (chanting )

This practice involves chanting of mantras. The religion may vary, but the objective remains the same that is to please the perfect figure.

  • Smarna ( to recollect)

This stage involves remembering God in all forms and feeling his vibes to the extent that it surpasses one own real being.

  • Padasevasana (service at feet)

This stage teaches to serve humanity to achieve soul responsibility towards the almighty.

  • Archana (worship)

Worshiping in this stage is made through images, statues, or pictures that can be physical or in one’s mind. The core of this practice is to satisfy the divine power with complete devotion and also surrender.

  • Vandana (bowing to the God)

One bow to the almighty not only with complete heart but also with all the worldly approaches.

  • Dasya (devotee)

This means becoming a god’s servant. Devoting self to the service of the natural entity while praising his vividness, virtues, and certainties.

  • Sakhya (friend)

One makes God his best companion with whom all the hassles of life are debated or conversed.

  • Atmaniveda (sacrifice)

Everything belongs to God in this stage. One offers his existence in all physical, mental, rational manner. For a bhakti yoga follower, nothing but God remains at the end.

Advantages Of Bhakti Yoga

It leaves you with wisdom and peace. It eliminates negative feelings like that of arrogance and also ignorance. Yoga makes you a more joyous being with no fear or sorrow. It clears the thoughts relating to God and helps to get a hold on feelings, especially in tough situations.


It is the ultimate path to receive harmony, ecstasy, and spirituality. It is a process of rising self above all the affections in the world to join ways with the absolute. Bhakti yogic sees God in every single being. This practice, although an origin of India is practiced worldwide with the same devotion to seeking shelter in the heart of mighty.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter