Hatha Yoga: The History And How It’s Changed

Hatha Yoga: The History

Hatha Yoga, as we know, is a world-famous form of exercise. Thus Yoga was originated in India around 5000 years ago. The origin of Yoga is said to be written in Rigveda. It is a textbook that mentions oldest Indian traditions like songs, mantras, and rituals written in ancient times. Hence Yoga is a very popular exercise that further consists of many asanas and different body postures. One of the essential branches of Yoga is hath Yoga. Thus in this article, we are going to discuss Hatha Yoga’s History and How we can change it.

The word “Hatha” describes force. Therefore hath Yoga is that form of exercise that requires strength and physical techniques to perform. Hath yoga firstly works on understanding the mechanism of a person’s body. This is done by performing different asanas and yoga positions that helps in regaining the energy. Hatha yoga also helps in removing the negativity from the body and restores the positive energy.

Hatha Yoga is so effective that it changes a person’s point of thinking and gives strength. Hence below, we will discuss more the history, working and philosophy of Hatha Yoga.

Hatha Yoga: The History And How It's Changed
Hatha Yoga: The History And How It’s Changed

History And Changes In Modern Yoga

The history of Hatha Yoga is very different and exciting. Thus Hatha yoga activity was first only a philosophy to live life. Thus people used to perform Hatha Yoga to attain inner peace and learn life lessons. Many people agree that Patanjali’s maharishi only wrote all of the 196 original yoga sutras in the 1st century. Therefore according to maharishi this yoga consists of 8 limbs that we can also refer to as the eight fold path. Although nowadays modern Yoga is only about physical exercise and not for mental health workout. 

Hatha yoga now had become another type of Yoga because people have started doing it for only physical fitness. The main focus had now been aerobics and power yoga workout rather than doing the ancient Hatha Yoga. People have made a perception that Yoga is a slow and gentle type of exercise that includes meditation in it. Although there are people who follow the saying of maharishi and want to make yoga a part of their daily routine. Thus they follow the eight limbs to gain full benefits of ancient Yoga.

Hatha Yoga: The History And How It's Changed
Hatha Yoga: The History And How It’s Changed

8 Limbs Of Hatha Yoga

  1. Yamas – The main aim is to observe how we relate to others.
  2. Niyamas – It tells us how we can relate to ourselves.
  3. Asanas – As everyone knows, asanas are the posture practice of Yoga.
  4. Pranayama – this is the technique to breathe that helps in controlling the negative forces.
  5. Pratyahara – it is a feeling when a person leaves their senses and focuses on their internal needs, emotions, and desires.
  6. Dharana – Also, a synonym of concentration in Sanskrit. When a person is in pratyahara, the brain will automatically concentrate on a single point.
  7. Dhyana – It is that stage where a person is aware of everything without even focusing on that point.
  8. Samadhi – the word enlightenment is best to describe Samadhi. Although it directly means a mutual connection with every living body.

Therefore all these eight limbs together followed make the ancient Hatha Yoga’s aim of living a peaceful life correctly. It is a perfect form of exercise that people try to attain inner peace. Thus this gives them the strength to face daily life challenges easily.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter